Back to Newsroom

2015 another successful year for the Snowman Rally in Inverness

Arnold Clark was proud to sponsor the Highland Car Club’s Snowman Rally once again.

Jock Armstrong and Paula Swinscoe came first place in a Subaru Impreza

Jock Armstrong and Paula Swinscoe came first place in a Subaru Impreza

The highlands – the perfect home for the Snowman Rally

Arnold Clark was once again the proud sponsor of the Highland Car Club’s Snowman Rally, which takes place in Inverness, Scotland.

The Snowman Rally celebrated its 60th year this year, one year after Arnold Clark.

The rally’s home in the highlands is a stunning setting for the race, and the environment is one of the factors that makes the Snowman Rally hugely entertaining. Over 100 cars have to battle the elements and testing roads on the course, to become the winner.

Peugeot Inverness used as scrutineering base

Prior to the rally, organisers take the rally cars to the Arnold Clark Peugeot branch in Harbour Road to be scrutineered.

The scrutineering involves completing safety checks to ensure that all cars are ready for the race, and comply with rally regulations.

The cars leave the branch the day before the rally begins.

GTG Training in Glasgow is also involved in the scrutineering of the cars for the Monte Carlo Rally, which took place last month.

Arnold Clark proud to spread the word

Every year, Arnold Clark Peugeot Inverness holds the rally programmes, which can be purchased from the branch during the event.

Snowman Rally results 2015

Overall Classification Awards

First place: Jock Armstrong/Paula Swinscoe (Subaru Impreza)

Second place: Bruce McCombie/Michael Coutts (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo)

Third place: Mike Faulkner/Peter Foy (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9)

Fourth place: Donnie MacDonald/Andrew Falconer (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9)

Fifth place: Barry Groundwater/Sean Donnelly (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9)

Class 1

No finisher eligible.

Class 2 – 2WD cars up to 1450CC

First place: Thomas Gray/David Law (Toyota Yaris)

Class 3 – 2WD cars up to 1650CC – 8 valves or less

First place: Scott Beattie/Fraser Gellan (Talbot Sunbeam)

Class 4 – 2WD cars up to 1650CC – more than 8 valves

First place: Carl Tuer/Rob Tuer (MG ZR S1600)

Class 5 –  2WD cars up to 2050CC – 8 valves or less

First place: Duncan MacDonald/Neil Ross (Ford Escort MK2)

Class 6 – Historic rally cars

First place: Willie Stuart/Neil Ewing (Ford Escort MK1)

Class 7 – FWD cars up to 2050CC – more than 8 valves

First place: Ross MacDonald/Matthew Johnstone (Honda Civic)

Class 8 – RWD cars up to 2050CC – more than 8 valves

First place: Malcolm Buchanan/Iain Nicoll (Ford Escort MK2)

Class 9 – 2WD cars over 2051CC

First place: Robert Harkness/Russell Fair (BMW 316i)

Class 10

No finisher eligible

Class 11 – Other 4WD cars not classified in class 12 or 13

First place: Mark McCulloch/Michael Hendry (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9)

Class 12 – GROUP A 4WD cars – super 2000 cars – R4 cars

First place: Shaun Sinclair/Chris Hamill (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8)

Class 13 – WRC cars and R5 cars

First place: John Rintoul/Ross Hynd (Hyundai Accent WRC)

The images attached to this article may be reproduced copyright-free solely for editorial use (providing credit is given to

Any additional commercial use must receive the specific approval and permission of LindsayPhotoSport.

About the Author

Sophie McGraw

Staff Writer at Arnold Clark